Skip to main content
Geosciences LibreTexts

Dedication and Acknolowledgements

  • Page ID
  • \( \newcommand{\vecs}[1]{\overset { \scriptstyle \rightharpoonup} {\mathbf{#1}} } \) \( \newcommand{\vecd}[1]{\overset{-\!-\!\rightharpoonup}{\vphantom{a}\smash {#1}}} \)\(\newcommand{\id}{\mathrm{id}}\) \( \newcommand{\Span}{\mathrm{span}}\) \( \newcommand{\kernel}{\mathrm{null}\,}\) \( \newcommand{\range}{\mathrm{range}\,}\) \( \newcommand{\RealPart}{\mathrm{Re}}\) \( \newcommand{\ImaginaryPart}{\mathrm{Im}}\) \( \newcommand{\Argument}{\mathrm{Arg}}\) \( \newcommand{\norm}[1]{\| #1 \|}\) \( \newcommand{\inner}[2]{\langle #1, #2 \rangle}\) \( \newcommand{\Span}{\mathrm{span}}\) \(\newcommand{\id}{\mathrm{id}}\) \( \newcommand{\Span}{\mathrm{span}}\) \( \newcommand{\kernel}{\mathrm{null}\,}\) \( \newcommand{\range}{\mathrm{range}\,}\) \( \newcommand{\RealPart}{\mathrm{Re}}\) \( \newcommand{\ImaginaryPart}{\mathrm{Im}}\) \( \newcommand{\Argument}{\mathrm{Arg}}\) \( \newcommand{\norm}[1]{\| #1 \|}\) \( \newcommand{\inner}[2]{\langle #1, #2 \rangle}\) \( \newcommand{\Span}{\mathrm{span}}\)\(\newcommand{\AA}{\unicode[.8,0]{x212B}}\)


    To Walt, Mary, and Reggie Miller.


    To my family.


    This book would not have been possible without the assistance of Michael Boezi, Melissa Yu, and Jenn Yee. Major thanks also goes to Scott Mealy for the amazing artwork and technical drawings found herein.

    We also like to thank the following colleagues whose comprehensive feedback and suggestions for improving the material helped us make a better text:

    • Rick Bunch, University of North Carolina Greensboro
    • Mark Leipnik, Sam Houston State University
    • Olga Medvedkov, Wittenberg University
    • Jason Duke, Tennessee Tech
    • I-Shian (Ivan) Shian, Virginia Commonwealth
    • Peter Kyem, Central Connecticut State University
    • Darren Ruddell, University of Southern California
    • Victor Gutzler, Tarrant County College, Texas
    • Wing Cheung, Palomar College
    • Christina Hupy, University of Wisconsin Eau Claire
    • Shuhab Khan, University of Houston
    • Jeffrey S. Ueland, Bemidji State University
    • Darcy Boellstorff, Bridgewater State College
    • Michela Zonta, Virginia Commonwealth University
    • Ke Liao, University of South Carolina
    • Fahui Wang, Louisiana State University
    • Robbyn Abbitt, Miami University
    • Jamison Conley, East Tennessee State University
    • Shanon Donnelly, University of Akron
    • Patrick Kennelly, Long Island University—C.W. Post
    • Michael Konvicka, Lone Star College—CyFair
    • Michael Leite, Chadron State College
    • Victor Mesev, Florida State University
    • Scott Nowicki, University of Nevada—Las Vegas
    • Fei Yuan, Minnesota State University—Mankato
    • Michela Zonta, Virginia Commonwealth University
    • Was this article helpful?